Book Reviews

“If I Stay” by Gayle Forman

If I Stay Book Cover

Summary:

In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen ­year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make

Recently I picked this book up in my Kindle app and decided to read it. Although the decision to read this book was not mine alone, I’m glad I did it.

I originally saw the movie trailer on TV and noticed the story line sounded familiar. At the end of the trailer, I realized why. I had added the book to my Goodreads -to read- list.

This gave me the shove I needed to go ahead and place the book at the top of my reading list and start it. Boy, am I glad I did.

“If I Stay” was such an amazing read I cannot even express. Everything from the beginning to the end of the book captivated me.

It felt as if I were the main character, Mia and all of the events surrounding her were actually happening to me. I was laughing and crying all throughout the book.

This was one of those books that you came out of it with a new perspective on life. You really learn the true meaning of family and what it means to have it ripped away from you in a heartbeat.

As soon as the book was finished I had the uncontrollable urge to call everyone in my family and tell them just how much I loved them.

I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone looking for an amazing read.

This is definitely a book I will be rereading in the future.

Please do not hesitate to pick this book up. It just might make you feel as cathartic as it did me.

My rating: 5/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

