Book Reviews

Matched Series by Ally Condie Review

Image

 

 

Caution: Review may contain spoilers. 

 

The Matched series takes place in a dystopian setting where the the government, also known as “the society”, controls everything. Your job, how long you live, who you love, what you do every minute of everyday is controlled by the society. Hardly seems fair, does it? Well, life outside of the society is even worse. That’s where the aberrations and anomalies reside, the people the society deems tainted and no good. They aren’t allowed into the society or to reap the benefits. Most of them die before their forty. These people are left all alone in the world and have to fight for their own survival; man against world. 

If you could live a care-free life just by allowing someone else to run your life, would you do it? Would it be worth a guaranteed life span of eighty years, to never being sick, always knowing where your next meal was coming from, to never having to go without the things you need? 

This is something Cassia wonders herself after meeting Ky, the aberration. He’s exactly the kind person she is supposed to stay away from. After her matching banquet where she is matched with her best friend Xander, she is sent home with a micro card that tells her everything there is to know about her match. However, when she puts the card into the port at her house something strange happens. It’s not Xander’s face that pops up on the screen at all, it’s a boy she barely even knows, Ky. This is where the story really begins. 

 

This was such a great series. 

The thing that I liked most about these books, first and foremost, was the writing style. The story was so beautifully written and had so many poems in it, it was like reading a song most of the time. 

The next best thing was the characters. I loved each and every one of them. They were described so well that I felt I knew them completely by the end of the series. 

The story awoke something in me that I didn’t know could be so strong; my rebellious side. The struggles that Cassia went through in the story felt very much like my own. It was as if I were in the story myself and trying decide what to chose, a life I’ve always known or a love I’ve never known. 

I’m not going to lie and say that there weren’t parts of the book that got a little boring, but I was able to work through that, however, the anger I felt toward Cassia in certain parts of the story was hard to overcome. For example, after Cassia discovered the truth behind her micro card and who Ky really was, she tossed Xander aside without a second thought and didn’t even consider how her actions would hurt him. She was selfish and rarely thought about anyone else. That didn’t change much throughout the series. That was the really the thing that annoyed me the most, I think. 

 

I would recommend this series to anyone looking for a good dystopian story. It makes your mind wonder and ask a whole lot of what-if’s. Don’t pass up on such a great story. Hopefully you’ll love it just as much as I did!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

