Book Reviews

Hollow City Review (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children #2)

Hollow City

My Rating: 5 stars

Author: Ransom Riggs

Hollow City is one of the types of sequels where you almost love it more than the first book. Almost. Both books were so good that it would be hard to pick a favorite. They both have different things about them that captivated me.

In this book we see Jacob and his new friends on a journey to save Miss Peregrine who has been turned into a bird permanently. And that’s all I’ll say about that to keep from spoiling it for you.

There were so many new and interesting characters in this book, I laughed my head off at parts. I think my favorites were, Addison-the talking dog, and the chickens with exploding eggs. Yes, that’s right, I said it. EXPLODING EGGS! When you get to that part you’ll see the levity of it if those words alone didn’t send into hysterics.

The journey Jacob and the gang go on is filled full struggles. And I mean they go through A LOT. It really went to show how close all of the characters have become since the first book. There is an unbreakable bond between them that transcends time. It was so beautiful that I didn’t want to let them go by the end of the book and found myself yearning for more. Too bad I’ll have to wait until 2015 to read the last book. I suppose I’ll find someway to manage.

This book has easily become one of my favorite books of all time. I mean it has, adventure, time-travel, and love. What more could one want? It most definitely satisfied me.

I’ll be looking forward to the untitled book three of the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children come next year. I can hardly wait!

One thought on “Hollow City Review (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children #2)

Leave a Reply

