Book Reviews

Book Review: Broken Skies by Theresa Kay

Broken Skies

Publication Date: January 13th 2014

My Rating: 4.5 Stars 

Check out the synopsis here —–>http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20764638-broken-skies

I received a digital ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Wow. What an emotional and intense read! This book left me in a whirlwind of emotions. Honestly, I’m still reeling from it and don’t know how to describe it. That’s not good for someone who is supposed to be reviewing a book. I’ll do my best to put my emotions into words to form this review for you, though.

First off let me start out by saying how much I LOVED this book! At first it was a little difficult for me to get into, but after the first few chapters, it really took off. I really can’t go into specifics because I’m trying to keep spoilers out of this review, but I’ll give you as much information as I can without doing that.

So basically this book follows the story of this girl named Jax and her quest to rescue her brother after he is abducted by aliens for reasons unknown to her. She finds an unlikely ally to assist her her in this quest and together they embark on an adventure to get the city of aliens which dwells here on earth and has been for many years.

For the most part the aliens have kept to themselves until the day of the abduction and throughout the book all the pieces start to fit together and we find out why it happened. I was pretty surprised by this and even more so by information I learned about Jax and her twin brother Jace. Just. Wow.

The chemistry between the characters was pretty well written. I found the instant attraction a little off putting at first, but wasn’t unbearable and Jax stayed pretty sensible about it throughout the book for the most part. Though the ending circumstance at the end was not ideal, I’m not unhappy about where then relationship between Jax and Lir went. I think the way it ended will make the next book even better!

There were a lot of emotional moments in this book as it deals with betrayals, realizations, loss and confusion, among many other things.

Theresa Kay has a way of writing that makes you think one way then later throws you in a totally different direction and leaves you sitting there thinking- “…What the heck just happened?” There was a lot of this in the book. Sometimes I found myself so lost about what could happened next that it made my head spin. Not literally of course.

It was just so good!

Another plus is that I absolutely did not see the ending coming…at all. I’m still blown away by it. I like being surprised when reading a book so this made it an even better read.

I’m so happy I was able to receive this book as an ARC and look forward to reading much more from Theresa Kay. Her writing is just too beautiful to not want to do that.

If you like aliens, journeys, dystopian novels, and a good romance, you should check this book out. It will be right up your alley. 🙂

One thought on “Book Review: Broken Skies by Theresa Kay

Leave a Reply

