Book Tags

Reader Problems Tag

That’s right, I’m here to do another tag. I love these things!

This one is The Reader Problems Tag. I’ve ran into several problems since I’ve become a passionate reader. I find it’s good to talk about them with others, or in this case to others.

So here I go!

Reader Problems Tag

1.You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I am a mood reader, therefore I read by my mood. If I’m in the mood for dystopian that’s what I read. If I’m in the mood for fantasy I read that. And so on. I’ve never been good a planning out my next read.

2.You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

I usually skim ahead and see if it gets any better. If not, I ditch it.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

I haven’t had this problem yet, but I’d probably read a few novellas or some short stories. For example; Four, by Veronica Roth or The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare. Those a very good examples of short stories. You can buy the entire book or the individual stories in eBook form. They also count as individual books on Goodreads.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

This is one of my biggest pet peeves!!! Let me give you a very good example:

This is the first book on hardcover—->ShatterMe_RESHOOT-10.indd

This is the other books in the series on hardcover—-> 1310408013188676

This REALLY needs to be fixed! It’s killing me. The same can be said for Anna and The French Kiss trilogy. At least they remade the entire series to match and not only change one book. And I can’t forget the LUX series. They all match now (even if they are bind ups)! They’re so pretty…

5. Everyone and their mother love a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I don’t. I silently think it to myself. And then when that doesn’t help I rage inside because the book made me very, very angry . *Cough* The Retribution of Mara Dyer *Cough* Then I go on Goodreads and see if anyone shares my opinion. And you know, Yahoo Answers helps.

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Since I don’t really read in public, this almost never happens. However, if it did, I would probably try to do it as discretely as possible.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!

It really all depends what I feel like doing at the time. I might re-read, or skim the book, but mostly I just “wikia it”. I wikia the previous novels and storylines. It helps jog my memory.

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. Borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

I don’t have many reader friends so this doesn’t exactly happen to me. But if it did, I’d probably say, “I haven’t read this book yet, but after I do, sure, you can borrow it.” Then I would “accidentally” forget I offered. (I don’t like to share. I’m very protective of my books). If they brought it up again I’d just go out and buy a duplicate copy and if I get it back, great (I’d trade it at a used book store for something else later) and If I don’t or it’s badly damaged, then that a good excuse for me to never let them borrow another book ever book again. Once that trust is broken, it’s broken. There is no getting it back.

9. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

That word reading slump gives me the chills! I hate it. And the sad truth is, you just have to let it run it’s course. There really is no cure. I usually take a break from reading and watch a lot of Netflix. Eventually I’m gonna watch a book to movie adaptation or a movie that reminds me of a book and that usually makes me want to read again if my reading break was long enough.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy? 

All of them if I can. If it’s more than I can afford at one time, I’ll break the purchase up into a few smaller purchases over a couple of weeks. I’ll eventually have the books I want on my shelf. I will always find a way.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

Again this one depends on my mood. If it’s a fantasy book I’ve been waiting on, but I’m stuck in a dystopian mindset, I’ll read more dystopian type books until I’m out of it. Or of it’s a contemporary book I’ve been looking forward to, but I’m reading Sci-Fi, I’ll read books closer to that genre.

Tagging time! I tag you, everyone that’s reading this! Just go do it and have fun with it.

Share your thoughts in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “Reader Problems Tag

  1. I can’t understand people who can plan what they’re going to read! I’m a mood reader too. I can never afford all the books I want, and I don’t have enough room, so I’m impressed that you manage it 🙂

  2. Hmmm I would love doing this tag! Being a mood reader sounds interesting… I have to make a TBR list or I’ll be all over the place lol. I usually span out my purchases as well or look on cheap online stores like Book Outlet or Book Depository to see if they have the book I want

      1. I love their prices but most of the time they don’t have the books that i want. I mostly order from amazon though since I know I’ll find the book that I REALLY want to read

Leave a Reply

