Book Reviews

Fairest by Marissa Meyer Book Review

Review time!

I don’t don’t these often, but I really should. This is my first and perhaps only completed book for Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon. We’ll see how it goes.

4

I don’t think I’ve ever read a more insightful book…or more accurately, novella. It was extremely interesting to see the inner workings of a villain’s mind.

Throughout the course of The Lunar Chronicles I always wondered what made Queen Lavana tick, what made her the way she was? This book gave me all of those answers more.

I’ll admit there were times I felt sorry for her, but ultimately she was just evil. At least now I know she’s capable of love, she just doesn’t hold it above her position and or what she wants most of all. Power.

What was most interesting to me though, was getting a look at Lavana’s life while Queen Channary, Selene’s mother, was still alive. I got also got to witness the attempted murder of the princess first hand. It was horrible. I can’t believe someone would go to those lengths to secure their position, but enter Lavana. After that, there was no turning back for her. The crave for power and thirst for blood, was too powerful. You do it once, you can do it again, and again and again. Do whatever it takes to get what you want.

That was pretty much what made up Queen Lavana.

I got a sweet surprise when I got to the end of the book, which might have been my favorite part, except it was another book entirely and I couldn’t count it as part of story I just read. That sweet surprise was a sneak peek at Winter! Three whole chapters! I LOVED it! Now I’m yearning even more for Winter. The wait is painful. November seems too far away.

Obviously this book gets 5 stars from me. This whole series gets 5 stars!

Also, I’m adding an ‘on my plate’ pic, as part of Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon:

 Wordpress Pic Edit

Okay. So maybe all of these aren’t on my plate. It’s not like I’m going to all of them. Probably. But they are delicious!

Leave a Reply

