Book Reviews

Book Review: Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

wpid-23507745.jpg

Title: Serafina and the Black Cloak

Genre: middle Grade/ mystery

My Rating: five stars

I received an ARC of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book is easily one of the best books I’ve read this year! I expected this book would be good, but I’m blown away by just how amazing it was. It definitely exceeded my expectations.

There are so many things I loved about this book. I will start out by saying how much I enjoyed the characters in Serafina and the Black Cloak. They we so brilliant and alive and refreshing they jumped off the page and became real people in my mind. They had their own personalities and qualities about them that made them so unique and enjoyable, Serafina, of course, being my favorite.

The story captivated me from the very first chapter. There were plot twist, surprise friendships, and insights that made this story so amazing and incredibly addicting. It killed me a little every time I had to put the book down.

Robert Beatty painted a perfect picture of the world Serafina and her friends were living in. And what a perfect setting! I myself have been to the Biltmore Estate multiple times and now this book has given it a brand new meaning. All of the places Serafina explored I could easily imagine in my mind even though I had never been to those specific places.

Serafina’s relationship with her father was sweet and beautiful and is a perfect example of how we determine who our family is and why we love them. In the beginning of the book Serafina is starved for companionship, desperately seeking a friend and interaction with any human her age. By the end of the book her character development showed through and proved just how far she had come as a person who has been hidden away from the world for so long.

Ah! Everything about this book was perfect, from the charters, to the relationships to the beautiful setting. Serafina and the Black Cloak is a book I will remember for years to come.

I highly recommend this book to all of my friends, my family, my blog followers and everyone else in the world. One of the top five best middle grade novels I’ve ever read. You have to read this for yourself!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

Leave a Reply

