Book Reviews

Fractured Suns by Theresa Kay

I received an ARC of this book for an honest review. My thoughts are my own.

FS

Fractured Suns is the second book in the Broken Skies trilogy. Link to Broken Skies review here.

What to say about this book…

It pretty much started with a bang and ended with one. After the first few chapters I latched onto the story line and couldn’t let go. When I wasn’t reading this book I was thinking about it, constantly wondering what was going to happen next.

I won’t say this book was as good as the previous book, but it definitely held it’s own. The characters were the same ones I feel in love with in Broken Skies and thankfully didn’t change too much from one book to the next. Well…except Jace. But there was a reason behind that one.

I was particularly happy to see Jax coming out of her shell and making friends and allies. Her character development shown through with so much light in this book it made me smile.

The ending was sad and unfortunate, but there has to be something there to keep the story line going so I’m doing my best to accept it. (I’m not doing very well)

I found it interesting how different Theresa Kay writes her story. In most stories when a character is battling two evils they usually side with the lesser of two evils when they have to pick one. Not in this book. In this book there were no lesser of two evils. They both crossed the evil threshold and just keep going in an even and consistent race.

Jax is an independent girl which is refreshing to see, since there are so many books out there that hold a lot of codependent charters. Jax and Lir were able to both fight their own separate battles without having to rely much on one another. That being said, I still missed seeing those two together. They didn’t have enough page time with each other and that really bummed me out even if it was necessary for the story line. But maybe Lir could have done a little less waiting around and been more proactive.

I am eager to see how the end of this series plays out and can’t wait to get my hands on the next book.

I guess that’s about it.

4 stars out of 5!

One thought on “Fractured Suns by Theresa Kay

Leave a Reply

