Blog Posts

Literary Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

This was previously a Top Ten Tuesday post, but I missed it and decided to do it anyway. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds (love reading, are writers, work at a bookstore, etc.)

Below are my top ten characters.

1.) Tessa Grey (The Infernal Devices)

Tessa Gray

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”

“Only the very weak-minded refuse to be influenced by literature and poetry.”

“Sometimes, when I have to do something I don’t want to do, I pretend I’m a character from a book. It’s easier to know what they would do.”

“I’ve never seen anyone get so excited over books before. You’d think they were diamonds.”

2.) Cather Avery (Fangirl)

fangirl-special-edition-cover-860x442

“So you haven’t read the books.”
“I’m not really a book person.”
“That might be the most idiotic thing you’ve ever said to me”

“She’d majored in English, hoping that meant she could spend the next four years reading and writing. And maybe the next four years after that.”

3.) Lara Jean Covey (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before)

Lara Jean

“Wait a minute…have never read Harry Potter?”

“I’ve read the first two.”

“Then you should know who Moaning Myrtle is!”

“It was a really long time ago,” Peter says. “Was she one of those people in the paintings?”

“No! And how could you stop after Chamber of Secrets? The third one’s the best out of the whole series. I mean it’s literally crazy to me.” I peer at his face. “Do you not have a soul?”

3.) Elizabeth Bennett (Pride and Prejudice)

Lizzy-Bennet

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”

“Books–oh! no. I am sure we never read the same, or not with the same
feelings.”

“Far be it from me, my dear sister, to depreciate such pleasures. They would doubtless be congenial with the generality of female minds. But I confess they would have no charms for me. I should infinitely prefer a book.”

4.) Katy (Obsidian)

Obsidian_cover

“I was always able to lose myself in reading. Books were a necessary escape I always gladly jumped into headfirst.”

“Once I got home, though, and saw several packages on my front porch, all the crap from the day disappeared. A few had smiley faces on them. Squealing, I grabbed the boxes. Books were inside– new release books I’d preordered weeks ago.”

“I don’t read too much. There’s no such thing as that.

5.) Caleb (Divergent) 

Caleb

“I imagine books jammed between the dresser and the wall, books under his mattress. The Erudite thirst for knowledge filling all the hidden places in his room.”

6.) Hazel Grace (The Fault in Our Stars) 

Fault-in-our-stars-04

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”

“Books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like a betrayal.”

7.) Cassia (Matched series) 

Matched

“For some reason the neatly ordered and abandoned books make me feel sad. Tired. I wish Cassia were with me. She’d turn each page and read every word. I can picture her in the dim light of the cave with her bright eyes and her smile and I close my eyes.”

8.) Matilda (Matilda) 

tumblr_l9i9fychKd1qzazi2o1_500

“The books transported her into new worlds and introduced her to amazing people who lived exciting lives. She went on olden-day sailing ships with Joseph Conrad. She went to Africa with Ernest Hemingway and to India with Rudyard Kipling. She travelled all over the world while sitting in her little room in an English village.”

“So Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships on the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You are not alone.”

9.) Wade Watts (Ready Player One)

9969571

“The Facts were right there waiting for me, hidden in old books written by people who weren’t afraid to be honest”

10.) Hermione Granger (Harry Potter Series) 

hermione2

“Are you sure that’s a real spell?” said the girl. “Well, it’s not very good, is it? I’ve tried a few simple spells just for practice and it’s all worked for me. I’ve learned all our course books by heart, of course.”

“Oh, honestly, don’t you two read? Look — read that, there.”

“Someday,” said the Boy-Who-Lived, “when the distant descendants of Homo sapiens are looking back over the history of the galaxy and wondering how it all went so wrong, they will conclude that the original mistake was when someone taught Hermione Granger how to read.”

_______________________________________________________________

And that is all. Are there any I missed or should know about? List them in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Literary Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

Leave a Reply

