Book Reviews · Find

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston (Review)

21524446

I received this ARC from Netgally in exchange for an honest review.

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Book Publication Date: October 6th 2015

This book is a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. Here is a short synopsis of the book

This is definitely one of the most unique books I’ve ever read. It’s the only book I’ve read where the main character doesn’t have a name- just titles. I didn’t even realize that until the end of the book. Weird. Maybe it wasn’t that important.

This book was such a culture shock to me- in a good way. I’ve never read something so completely different before. It was nice learning about other ways of life.

I loved the relationship between the two sisters. It was a strong, close, unwavering friendship. Truly beautiful. That (Lady Bless?) decided to go in her sister’s place to live with the king considering what would befall her, was pretty courageous. And the love between them never failed even when they were far away.

What separates the book from most is that the main character doesn’t just want to go to play her part and die, she actually wants to live. There wasn’t tons of martyrdom, thankfully. And she figures out a way to save other girls from befalling the same fate as her. Not without sacrifice though.

The main character displays more courage than I would have had in her situation. She was tough, and proud- in a good way, and likable. Sometimes when a character is a mush up of all those things- writers tend to sacrifice on personality and the character becomes unlikable, focusing solely on their purpose and nothing else, but that didn’t happen here.

The ongoing cleverness battle between Lo-Melkhiin and (her) was very interesting to read and kept me intrigued about what might happen next.

In the end I was happy where everything led and how it was wrapped up and the decisions that (she) made. They only fault I had was that the climax a little unfulfilling. I felt like more should have happened or certain scenes should have lingered a bit longer.

Overall a very good read.

4 Stars!

Would I recommend?

If you love magic and demons and mystery and rebellion then I say YES!

One thought on “A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston (Review)

  1. Pingback: girl in bookland

Leave a Reply

