Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday- Halloween themed freebie (October 27th, 2015)

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday or TTT is a weekly meme started and hosted every Tuesday by the Broke and the Bookish. For more info, see here.

This week’s theme is Halloween themed freebie — blogger’s choice (ie. 10 best ghost stories, 10 things that scare you in books, 10 literary Halloween costumes, 10 vampire novels, 10 books that WILL scare you, 10 non-scary books for Halloween, 10 scariest covers, etc.)

I have chosen to split my TTT between books to read for Halloween and books with creepy covers. Now, not all of the books are scary per say, but they are suspenseful or a little creepy.

*

1.) 2.) 3.) Mara Dyer

The Unbecomeing of Mara Dyer

The Evolution of Mara Dyer

The Retribution of Mara Dyer

At times, these books are very creepy and for the most part the main character is a complete mystery. I loved this series, the last book least of all, but give them a try and see for yourself.

*

4.) GG

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I chose this book for obvious reasons. I’m sure almost everyone has heard of this book before. It’s creepy because the main character is a brilliant Psycho.

*

5.) wpid-21943246.jpg

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

A mystery/ suspenseful book. Despite it’s problems and the terrible reviews, I did enjoy this book.

*

6.) 7.) 8.)  MPC

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Hollow City

Library of Souls

This series isn’t creepy in the traditional way, but the characters are a bit odd. The later books get a little darker, especially the last one. So if you are looking for a good, unique read, go for this series. It’s AMAZING!

*

9.) 10.) 11. ) grisha-trilogy-covers

Shadow and Bone

Siege and Storm

Ruin and Rising

The Grisha Trilogy are not SCARY scary books, but the main male character gives me chills. He is truly evil, but also sad and lonely. Leigh Bardugo writes an awesome villain and to be honest, I was sad about the end.

12.) wpid-23507745.jpg

Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

This book was so mysterious and definitely creepy, even for a middle grade novel. If you’d like to read my review, go here.

Okay, that was more than ten, but who cares. There are some amazing books here. Read any of these yourself? Have your own to recommendations? Leave your RECs or TTT links in the comments below. I would love to find some more creepy reads. 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Halloween themed freebie (October 27th, 2015)

  1. I recently picked up the Mara Dyer books and I can’t wait to read them. I agree with what you said about the Darkling, he is not a scary character but he is quite devious XD

  2. Black Ice is on my TBR but I was hesitant because so many people hated it. But, I love Becca Fitzpatrick books. I enjoyed the Mara Dyer books too, and like you, I liked them less as the series went on! Great list!

Leave a Reply

