Blog Posts

Favorite Books of 2015

This is a list of my favorite read books this year. Although this year isn’t finished yet (with 2 days left), I think it’s safe to proceed. I can always revise later, right?

These books didn’t have to be published this year, just read this year. Now, let’s get started!

1.) All the Light I Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

All the Light We Cannot See

Short Review: Historical fiction has never really appealed to me, but this book stood out and made me want to pick it up. It was beautifully written and so cathartic and just full of life and strength. I have never read from a blind person’s POV and it was very interesting. This book opened my mind up to more historical fiction books in the future.


 

2.) Broken Skies by Theresa Kay

Broken Skies

Short Review: This was one of a few alien books I’ve read this year and it was amazing. I loved the characters, their interactions and the chemistry between them. So much romance and action, it was a perfect combination of both!


 

3.) Better off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg

Better Off

Short Review: I’m a sucker for best friend romance books and this one was the best one I’ve ever read. It was so different from the others I’ve read and I can understand why people say it is this generation’s How Harry Met Sally. That is one of my most favorite movies! The story was told in such a unique way and I hope to read more books like this one in the future.


 

4.) Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

9969571

Short Review: Action packed! Let me just say that. I have never fallen in love with a virtual reality until this book came along. Let me also say, I am a child of the 80’s. Okay, so I was born at the VERY end of the 80’s but I love almost all things 80’s- movies, memorabilia, the music…. so much to love. That combine with my love for video games was a perfect mix. This is a must read for anyone who is interested in the things mentioned above.


 

5.) Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Winter (The Lunar Chronicles) by Marissa Meyer

Lunar-Chronicles-by-Marissa-MeyerWinter

Short Review: These were the very first fairy tale retellings I ever read and it was an amazing experience. This series got me into the sci-fi genre. Also, the OTPs in this series were perfect! And talk about hilarious dialogue. Clears throat* Captain Thorne and Iko.


 

6.) Sarafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

wpid-23507745.jpg

Short Review: This book falls into many categories. It’s a middle grade, fantasy, historical fiction novel about a young girl who is raised in the basement of a mansion (The Biltmore Estate) where no one except her father knows about her and in a twist of fate is thrown into the world of the rich and supernatural. This book can be dark at times, but it’s also very interesting. It starts out with this great big mystery and you can’t stop reading it until you figure out what is going on. I think the addicting story-line combine with living so close the house mentioned (yes, it’s real!) really added to the experience for me and made it a personal favorite that I think everyone should read.


 

7.) Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

Short Review: This was a quirky, funny and emotional at times book, but what really made me love it, was the main character- Cather. I could identify with her almost completely. We are both writers on an free online writing site and we are both complete book nerds and we are both completely awkward around new people. What’s not to love about that?


 

8.) The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

16101128

Short Review: Aliens! I love aliens. Or…the fictional ones. This book and a very intersting, unique take on aliens, but you don’t really understand that until you get a little further into the series. I loved the surprises, the romance, how everyone’s story kind of wove together. I loved everything about this book.


 

9.) A Court or Thorns and Roses by Sarah J.Maas

wpid-a-court-of-thorns-and-roses_0.jpg.jpeg

Short Review: A Beauty and the Beast retelling, but with fairies. Beauty and the Beast is one of my most favorite fairy tales so of course I had to read this one. I loved the twists and turns along the way, the romance and the action.


 

10.) Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

51-XwftIbNL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Short Review: This book was a favorite for personal reasons. I absolutely identified with the main character and those books always turn out to be the best. You can find my full review here.


 

11.) Tandem by Anna Jarzab

Tandem

Short Review: A twist on a fantasy novel with an alternate reality. A girl is stolen from her life and sent to replace her alternate reality self who happens to be a princess who escaped from her life. And all of this was because of altered events in our history. The world as Sasha knows it has changed and nothing is the same. I loved the whole alternate reality aspect and having to learn to live a someone else, to be an impostor. I can’t believe I haven’t started the second book yet!


 

12.) Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

Library-of-Souls-by-Ransom-Riggs

Short Review: This is the most unique series I’ve ever read. The characters are very peculiar (hence the series title) and they are a close group of friends who are loyal and work mostly well together. And I can’t leave out the comedic dialog and animals that talk! This series is sure to take you on an adventure so be ready!


 

13.) Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

wpid-redqueen.jpg

Short Review: I’m seeing a trend here. I read A LOT of fantasy. There’s just so much to love. And this book was no exception. Romance, espionage, betrayal…it was all so exciting. There were obvious problems with this books, but I still loved it and I know whole series will be amazing.


 

14.) The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvatter

Short Review: This series tops any supernatural book I’ve ever read. The search for an ancient king and the use of a powerful ley line. This story is so deeply woven that you need to invest your body and soul into it because it will feel like you are a part of this world, this group of friends ( Blue, Gansey, Adam, Noah, Ronan) when you are done.


 

15.) Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff 

Illuminae

Short Review: And the award for most favorite book of 2015 goes to….Illuminae! This book has the most unique way of telling a story. I’ve never read a book in this format before- ie. personal files, government documents, emails, instant messages, surveillance records…it’s all incredible. But I must recommend that you do NOT read this book without the audio book. It adds more to the experience than I can explain. You get multiple narrators, sound effects, background music…. it’s truly spectacular. Just do it!


 

I hope you enjoyed my list! What’s your favorite books of 2015?

Full reviews of these books can be found on my Goodreads! Click here to friend or follow me!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2015

  1. Great list! I read The Lunar Chronicles this year and loved them. Also, I adore & will read anything Rainbow Rowell writes! Tandem sounds interesting, I haven’t heard of it before. Adding to my TBR!

  2. I loved Ready Player One this year too and it’s on my list of favourite reads for 2015 🙂 The other books you have put up also look good, so I’m adding them all to my TBR list 🙂

Leave a Reply

