Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently (last year-ish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book.

I don’t think I have ten but I do have a few!

 


 

1.) Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

I like to play video games, but I’ve never read a book centered around a video game until Ready Player One. It was great and so action packed. 

9969571

 


 

2.) All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

This was my first and only historical fiction so far. This was a new genre for me. Ever since reading this one, it has started my interest in the genre and made me order more historical fiction books. I can’t wait to read them! 

All the Light We Cannot See


 

3.) Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

I don’t usually read non-fiction but after reading the synopsis I decided to give it a try. I was surprised by how relatable and funny it was. 

Hyperbole


 

4.) The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

This was a good, weird book. I don’t read a lot of classics and am trying to do that more. None of the characters in this book were relatable and Tom and Daisy were some of the worst people I’ve ever read about. But I was still able to enjoy the story. I liked Gatsby and the way the characters spoke. I would definitely read this one again.

3


 

5.) Illumine by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff 

I don’t like sci-fi books. At least I thought I didn’t. After I read this book it changed my whole outlook on the genre. I want more books like this one! 

Illuminae


 Graphic Novels!

I don’t read them at all really. Only once, but that’s because it was based on a book I love. These I picked up purely because they sounded interesting and I need to complete my 2015 Goodreads challenge. I am glad I read them whatever the reason.

6.) Black: The Birth of Evil by Ted Dekker

Black

7.) The Boxcar Children (1-3) by Gertrude Warner

 Boxcare

8.) Pandora: End of Days by Peter J. Ang (Author), Jin Song Kim (Illustrator)

End of Days


What are some some reads that weren’t your usual genre that you enjoyed?  Have a Top Ten Tuesday? Share it below! 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

