Book Reviews

Tell the Wind and the Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan- Review

Tell the Wind

“Oh, tell the wind and the fire where to stop, but don’t tell me.”

Author’s note: I pulled at Dickens’s themes and played with his characters and gradually turned them into my own. Tell the Wind and Fire stands as its own story, and you don’t have to know anything about A Tale of Two Cities to enjoy it. But I hope that if you have enjoyed my book, you might find yourself drawn to read Charles Dickens’s famous novel.


If I ever wanted to read a Charles Dickens novel, it’s now. There were such interesting concepts and story lines in the book, it really made me want to read what gave this story it’s inspiration and see the similarities.

This was a very interesting book. From the opening line I should have realized it was somehow connected with A Tale of Two Cities. I didn’t actually realize the connection until the end.

I liked the world building and the character growth in Tell the Wind and the Fire. The author did a great job of making you like even the worst character and have hope for them. Ms. Brennan lets you see, through her writing, how horrible, evil people, can be good and people who are good, or who have good intentions can turn evil. Having power can change you entirely.

It’s about going too far and how discrimination, even in another world, is still alive and well and cruel. It’s about seeing behind the lines, looking beyond what you’ve always been told and forming your own opinions based on what you see and experience yourself.

Though I sometimes felt confused about the things happening in the book, it didn’t take away form my enjoyment or overall understanding of the story.

The banter was hilarious and a perfect balance between the serious and the not so serious.

Overall this was a good book and one I’d gladly recommend. If you like fantasy or dystopian books, read this.

4/5 Stars.

Leave a Reply

