Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Hello, out there! It’s been forever since I’ve done a blog post. I’ve been in a weird funk lately, but now I’m back at it again! This week’s TTT theme is a freebie so I’ve chosen- Top Ten Favorite Books I’ve Read This Year! ย 

Most of these will be new-ish books published this year, but not all of them. If you’d like to know more about Top Ten Tuesday click HERE. These are in no particular order.


 

Top Ten Favorite Books of 2016:

A Court of Mist and Fury

1.) A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Publication Date: May 3rd 2016

This book is without a doubt my #1 favorite book so far this year. It was so different from the first book in the best ways. I liked the first book but I LOVED this one. Feyre had the most character development in anyone that I’ve ever read about, I think. She is such a strong, female heroine. If you didn’t like A Court of Thorns and Roses, do not let that stop you from reading the second book. You will be so glad you did!

 


 

17378527

2.) The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Publication Date: April 26th 2016

This is my second favorite book of this year so far. I had a few very small issues with it, like a new character that felt too forced upon the readers. I liked him, but it didn’t flow well. Other than that, this was an amazing conclusion. I only wish the book had been longer. It was the last one, surely we readers deserved an extra 100 pages or so. I wouldn’t have minded. Also, while I loved Gansey and Blue nd shipped them from the beginning, my favorite OTP of this book was probably Ronan and Adam. I devoured every scene with them.


 

Glass Sword

3.) Glass Sword by Maggie Stiefvater

Publication Date: February 9th, 2016

This book was not as good a Red Queen, but it was still pretty good. We got to see so much more of the world Mare lives in and got to meet so many cool characters. After that cliff hanger, I can hardly wait until the third book is out. Also, in case you haven’t heard, it’s titled King’s Cage! What are your theories on the third book?!


 

The Girl on the Train

4.) The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Publication Date: January 13th 2015

So this book is not my typical genre. I usually don’t go for many adult fiction books, but this one was a page turner for sure. After the first few chapters, I was sucked in and could not put the this book down. The characters were so messed up. They were all perfectly flawed and interesting to read about. It had me guessing until the very end who the killer was.


 

Persuession

5.) Persuasion by Jane Austen

Publication Date: This edition-ย November 1st 2014

This is probably tied with Pride and Prejudice for favorite Jane Austen book. I was swooning and gasping and smiling so much in this book (even almost crying). While I found some of the characters to be unbearable, Anne and Mr. Wentworth made this a novel worth reading.


 

Holding Court

6.) Holding Court by K.C. Held

Publication Date: March 1st 2016

This was one entertaining and hilarious book. It had me nearly rolling in the floor. And all those Princess Bride references…yes please! Jules is so odd and amusing. And her job, the best! I could seriously enjoy the job of a fortune seeing nun. If you want something with a little of everything, humor, romance, mystery…this is the book for you.


 

TOL

7.) Thief of Lies by Brenda Drake

Publication Date: January 5th 2016

This was one of those books that took me by surprise. While I had a hard time getting into the book at first, it eventually pulled me into it’s world and locked the key to the door behind me. I felt so submerged in this world. I had my doubts going into this book, but it was a pleasant surprise it turned out to be so amazing. Who wouldn’t want to read about a world of books and libraries mixed in with some fantasy and awesome action scenes. Also, such a swoon worthy romance.


 

511xaDdWzXL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

8.) The Last Star by Rick Yancey

Publication Date: May 24th 2016

I loved being back in this world after what felt like a super long wait. The characters were mostly the same, but Cassie was more annoying than I remember. I felt like this book short changed me, since it was so short. We needed much longer book.But i loved how everyone came together and worked as a team. Also, the journey and character deaths felt pretty realistic. Rick Yancey was not afraid to step on some toes and kill off some beloved charters. There are always casualties in war. A sad, but necessary thing.


 

Tell the Wind

9.) Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

Publication Date: April 5th 2016

A retelling of A Tale of Two Cities. I have never read A Tale of Two Cities, but after this book, I would very much like to. This book had quite the magical element to it. It was a dystopian/ fantasy type read which I am coming around to. It’s a great mix. It touches on subjects like discrimination, and segregation and features doppelgangers and dark magicians. A must read!


 

shatter me series

10.) Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

Publication Date: February 5th 2016

Unravel Me was my favorite book out of the Shatter Me series. It was the book that opened up the world further. New characters were introduced, friendships made, new powers and abilities discovered, strong character development and more adventure. There was so much to love about this book. I did get hints of The X-Men which wasn’t a bad thing. I love the X-Men. If teens with superpowers are your thing, pick up this series immediately.


Thanks for checking out my list! Share your TTT below or list your favorite books so far this year. I’d love to know what you loved for the first half of 2016.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

