Book Reviews

Review: The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

17378527

“Make way! Make way for the Raven King!”

 

I always worry the last book in an incredible series is going to disappoint and not capture all the things I loved about the series to begin with. This was my worry with this series. However, I am very happy to report this was not the case at all.

Let me just start off by saying this is my number 1 favorite series ever. I had very high expectations when it came to The Raven King. I love that Maggie Stiefvater did not let me down. Her writing was just as beautiful and addicting as it was from the first page of The Raven Boys.

Nothing felt sub-par or less the amazing throughout the entire book. The characters had so much growth from the first book and were so mature and lovable and even the new characters introduced were lovable right from the beginning. We finally get all the information we need to understand the characters and Cabeswater and origins.

Just like all of the other books in this series, I devoured it in a day. I think it might be the best book in the series. But, I’m not sure. They are all so amazing.

I did not feel like the story line was at all predictable and kept it’s unique feel the entire time. I can’t say I’ve ever read a book series that captures the feelings this one does. I can’t even explain it. I suppose that’s all owed to the beautiful writing.

I was left with a few questions after the ending and I would love to see some short stories from Maggie about the group and how the side characters are fairing. I felt their stories were left very open ended.

I need more Adam and Ronan & Gansey and Blue. We waited so long for that romance I felt there wasn’t enough of it. I feel very short changed. Please, Ms. Stiefvater, give us more!

This was such a strong conclusion to this series and I just want to give the author a standing ovation. It is much deserved.

4.5/5 Wonderful Stars!

Also:

*****(SPOILERS)*****

*Insert hysterical crying*

Noah!!!!! Why? Why couldn’t they figure out a way for you to live too? He didn’t even get a proper goodbye from his friends. It was so disappointing. I feel broken inside.

 

 

 

Leave a comment